End of Year Reflections

It’s that time of year again. The snow has blanketed the entirety of New England and the temperature has dropped below 30 degrees. I dread the winter. Once more for emphasis: I dread the winter. For many RA patients it is the heat that does them in, as it increases the swelling in their inflamed areas. I, however, feel at my worst when it is supposed to be the ‘happiest time of the year’.

I’m no Scrooge- I love Christmas and New Years and all the celebrations that come with the end of the year approaching. I love spending time with family I don’t get to see too often, and I love our holiday traditions. What I don’t love is what comes after.

I feel the winter in every crack and crevasse and joint in my bones. My head feels it. My sinuses feel it. Every which way, I feel it. I know what winter brings for me, so I anticipate it with a heavy heart. I’ve come to accept that it is what it is and that I can’t let my illnesses stop me for living my life, so I try my best to stay as healthy as I can for as long as possible, but acknowledge it when my body has had enough and I need to allow myself some time to rest.

Even though most of the stress of the holidays falls onto my mom, as we have Christmas at our house and she is the one that gets everything accomplished (shout out to moms, you rock), it still can be extremely stressful thinking about everything that needs to get done by Christmas Eve at the very latest. As Queen of Procrastination herself, I made it a priority this year to both cut back on present giving and make sure the people I do need to buy for are all taken care of at least a week before Christmas. Starting the whole Christmas process early will take a huge weight off of your shoulders and prevent any potential stress-induced flare-ups.

Due to family allergies, we have not bought a real Christmas since before I can even remember. Instead, we have a lovely artificial tree that pops right up and saves us a lot of hassle. It looks so real that every year we get a handful of comments about it, and it is a huge time, money, and stress saver.

One of the hardest parts of this time of the year is how busy and hectic it is, which greatly effects my sleep cycle. It’s the end of the semester, so finals are consuming all my time and there is that constant nagging in the back of my head reminding me of all the things I need to do. I am guilty of letting the stress get to me, but this time around I have allowed myself to take my time with everything and go at my own pace. I have no doubt that everything will get done and it all will turn out just fine.

Something that took the weight of the world off my shoulders recently was that I put in my notice at my job at the café I work at. Not only am I a barista, but I am also in a management position and juggling that, school, and my health became too much on my body. For months it has been taking a toll on me and I finally listened to my body and am doing what needs to be done. I will definitely miss working there, but I have no doubt leaving is what is best. As I said, listening to your body is vital.

Without the constant worry of having to work a nine hour shift in which I am standing the entire time, using my hands, and lifting heavy crates and bags, I am way less anxious about putting my body through the ringer this holiday season. I am finding the joy in this time of year and taking the time to appreciate those around me. Although it is not perfect, I am thankful for my health and I am thankful to live in a part of the world that has such wonderful medical care.

Below I have linked some helpful articles I have found in my research, including a gift giving guide for those with RA and what to do to get through the holidays.

Life with RA During the Holidays

Rheumatoid Arthritis Holiday Gift Guide

RA Resolutions for the Holidays and Beyond!

I hope everyone has a happy healthy holiday season. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑